Stop LinkedIn from sharing which profiles you view

Stop LinkedIn from sharing which profiles you view

Updated June 25, 2017 to reflect changes to the LinkedIn platform.
There are a number of reasons that you may be perusing the profiles of others on LinkedIn. Whether it’s because you’re checking out the staff of a place you want to work, looking up job history for co-workers, or you’re just curious what someone has done with their time in the workforce, it’s easy to see this information on LinkedIn profiles.
Unfortunately, LinkedIn is also good at sharing your profile browsing habits. Each time you visit a profile, the owner may receive an email or an alert on the website about your visit, depending on the type of LinkedIn account they have. If you want to stop this from happening, you’ll have to make an adjustment to your account settings. Here’s how:
Step 1: Head to the menu (your photo, thanks chowbiz!) in the top right-hand corner on LinkedIn and select Settings & Privacy
 
 
Step 2: Click the link for Select what others see when you’ve viewed their profile.
 
 
 
Step 3: Choose the generic or anonymous option and then Save changes.
Now when you view a profile, only you will know. What do you think of this feature? Should it be enabled by default?
Article via http://cnet.co/1D1YQYx
Images by Nicole Cozma of CNET

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.